FRINGE BENEFITS

My friend Calder Lowe got after me to enter my “old” book, The Fringes of Hollywood, in the 2014 Hollywood Book Festival. I thought why not.

bk-fringes

The news came today. Can’t believe it, but Jack and I will be staying at the Hollywood Roosevelt Hotel in Hollywood on the 26th of July, 2014.

Roosevelt

My book, The Fringes of Hollywood, got into the Wild Card awards as an Honorable Mention. So that goes with an invitation to mingle with the other winners at the Awards ceremony, to accept the award, and to say a few words.

Here are the WILD CARD winners:

WILD CARD:
WINNER: Down One Side and Up the Other – Peter Shikli
RUNNER-UP: Law of the Desert Born: A Graphic Novel – Louis L’amour (adapted by Charles Santino, et al)



HONORABLE MENTIONS:

• Private Svoboda – Steven R. Roberts with Alexander von Svoboda
• Adventure Inward – Jonathan Wunrow
• 8 Keys to Wholeness – Donna DeNomme
• The Undiscovered Goddess – Michelle Colston
• Swanson at Sundown – Jack Ryan
• L.A. a la Cart – Richard Asperger
The Fringes of Hollywood – Mary Lou Taylor
• The United States of Theocracy – Janet K. Humphreys, Ph.D
• Murder in the Haunted House – Carolee Russell
• Time and Forever – Susan B. James
• Surveillance on the Down-Low – W.M. Sanguine

Another winner is Audry Lynch for her book on John Steinbeck and James Dean, The Rebel Figure in American Literature and Film: The Interconnected Lives of John Steinbeck and James Dean.

The Rebel Figure

I was fortunate enough to review it, and the reviews were published in Pen Woman and in Steinbeck Gazette. 
Steinbeck Remembered

HollywoodSignJAN09

6 comments on “FRINGE BENEFITS

  1. Roxy Sax says:

    Well, I’m not surprised.  I have always loved that book!  Have a ball in L.A.!      Love,  Roxy

    PS:  I have moved.  New address 814 Saint Elizabeth Dr. SJ 95126.  Phone 564-8375  Cell 425-9635.  Let’s have lunch soon.

  2. Leslie Hoffman says:

    Wow! Congratulations, Mary Lou!

  3. Thank you, Leslie. And yes, Roxy, let’s celebrate.

  4. Anne Dunham says:

    Excellent! Well deserved.

  5. Congratulations! I guess they forgot to email me I hohorable mentioned. Have a great time. I love the Roosevelt. My blog is http://susanbjames.blogspot.com/
    and the story of why I was down there last week is on there.
    I am giving away a 25.00 Fandango gift certificate and two copies of Time and Forever. Contest ends Sat the 26th. Blessings.

    • Ariel Smart says:

      I love The Fringes of Hollywood. It so much reminds me of my trips in Gerry Ritzer’s old car to sneak into Marlon Brando’s window and wear his tee shirts and try to race Charles Laughton in his up-to-date chauffeur-driven Cadillac. My friend Gerry died of Aids when there was still no cure. But how we loved the phantasy of “making it” in Hollywood. Mary Lou’s book brings tears of nostalgia and joy to my eyes. Member of Peerless Poetry,
      Ariel Smart

Leave a comment