BRINGING HOME THE MOON

MY SECOND BOOK, A REALITY!

Bringing Home Two days ago two boxes appeared on our front porch. Inside were copies of Bringing Home the Moon, a poetry book that’s been ten years in the making. I finished much of it at Montalvo Arts Center in Saratoga as an artist in residence. But sometimes illness interferes, and this past year I’ve worked on the book sporadically, set it up, chosen the poems, and sent it to a couple of presses with time to spare. I’ve been pretty well housebound.

It was Dave Denny, first Poet Laureate of Cupertino, who made the difference. He suggested a press down south that he thought might be interested. They were. It took several months and some tough proofreading and editing (I still can’t figure out how to number pages.), but the book looks good and reads well. I thank Karen Kelsay, my editor at Aldrich Press, for going out of her way to work with me.

One poet friend talked of what we hoped to get from a writing group. I have three: Peerless Poets, Poetry Salon, and Poetry Circle. And I learn from all each time we meet. My friend’s strategy for structuring a poem is what I ended up using in the new book. The book provides a set of stepping stones for readers to follow as they make their way from the opening to the ending. I used some of the poems from my first book to make the new book flow. It has three sections. The first deals with living in Chicago and moving finally to Los Angeles. Then the big move to what now is called Silicon Valley. The last section is a gallimaufry of this and that. It ends with a few poems on Space, big in Silicon Valley.

Blurb Back Cover Art: Chuck Drew

Published by
Kelsay Books, Aldrich Press, 2015

Photograph of Moon: WebMaster
RealMoon

3 comments on “BRINGING HOME THE MOON

  1. Congratulations and good luck with book sales.

  2. Robert Sward says:

    what great news, Mary Lou. Eager to see the book and catch up with your work!

    what’s your experience with WordPress.com ? Like to know more about it.

    warmly, always r

    >

  3. Elaine Clabeaux says:

    Congratulations on completing this project in spite of a challenging year.
    You have my admiration.

Leave a Reply

